Uthappa comeback to India squad

Robin Uthappa’s comeback to international cricket after nearly three and a half years in the backwoods was formalised on Monday night when the Karnataka limited-overs wicketkeeper-batsman was named in the 15-man squad for the one-off Twenty20 international against England in Kolkata on October 29.

Uthappa last played for the country in July 2008 against Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup in Karachi and was ushered out after worsening to strengthen his place. But a string of impressive limited-overs performances, including a century in the recent Challenger Series, have paved the way for the 25-year-old’s return to the national team.

Uthappa and Yusuf Pathan are the two changes from the 15-man squad that did duty in the first two one-dayers, and that was retained by the national selectors for the last three games of the five-match series which India leads 2-0 when they met here during the second one-dayer. While Uthappa comes in for Parthiv Patel, Pathan replaces Gautam Gambhir, who will miss the T20 game because he is getting married, a release from the BCCI said.

Team for last three ODIs: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, R Ashwin, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, S Arvind, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma.

Team for T20 international: MS Dhoni (capt), A Rahane, Robin Uthappa, V Kohli, Yusuf Pathan, S Raina, R Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, R Ashwin, U Yadav, V Aaron, S Arvind, M Tiwary, R Sharma.

Starting Blocks

More Sports News


Post a Comment