India takes Afghanistan in SAFF opener

Five time winners and defending champions India will start the 10th edition of the South Asian Football Federation Cup with a clash against Afghanistan on December 3.India, who won the Cup's last edition in 2009 were seeded for the draw along with the Maldives who India beat in the final two years ago. The draw ceremony was attended by a host of personage including All India Football Federation General Secretary Kushal Das, SAFF General Secretary Alberto Colaco and Maldives Football Association General Secretary Shah Ismial.

AIFF President Mr Praful Patel said: "It is a great pleasure to host the SAFF Championship in New Delhi once again."This time the Championship will be held at the world class Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium which is now being developed as a football hub as part of the heritage plan of the Ministry of Sports, Government of India. I wish all the participating countries the very best and hope to see a very spirited tournament."


Group A: India, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Afghanistan.

Group B: Maldives, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal.

Plyometric Cones

More Sports News


Post a Comment