ICC inspection team will be happy: Pawar

At 9.15 a.m. on Wednesday, the curious staff of the Bombay Stock Exchange from security guards to brokers saw Sharad Pawar, President, International Cricket Council (ICC), and Haroon Lorgat, CEO, ICC, strike the gong with the mallet to mark the 30-day countdown to the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 to be jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh from February 19 to April 2.The World Cup was on display; the attraction item being flown in from Melbourne for the special occasion by Emirates. It was a symbolic gesture that took place at the International Convention Hall of Phiroze Jeejeebhoy Towers, a melting pot for the stock market community.

Mr. Pawar and Prof. Ratnakar Shetty, Tournament Director, ICC CWC 2011,- dismissed all speculation on the readiness of Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Pallkele Stadium and Hambantota Stadium, Sri Lanka for the quadrennial event.Mr. Lorgat said that the final inspection of the two venues in India would be carried out on Jan. 24 (Wankhede) and Jan. 25 (Eden Gardens) and hence he's not tending to press the panic button. Meanwhile, Mr. Pawar said: “I am wearing two hats; I'm the President of the ICC and President of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA). I am confident the ICC inspection team will be happy after the visit to Wankhede on Jan. 24.

They would have seen a miracle. The MCA Managing Committee has put in hard work and so also the people involved in renovating the stadium.It's an emergency I had to deal with when bomb blasts happened in Bombay in 1993 and 45,000 lines were burnt. I made sure that the telephone lines were restored and the Bombay Stock Exchange remained open to Indians and the international community.“Compared to that the (completion of the Wankhede Stadium) is only a small matter. It would be a proud moment for Mumbaikars and Indians and a pleasure to see matches at the renovated Wankhede Stadium. Heroes will be made, dreams will be realised and hopes dashed. The World Cup will involve 49 matches and 14 teams playing in 13 great cities in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.”


Post a Comment